Meet the Board

Meet the Board of Arthritis & Osteoporosis NSW

President: Mr Allan Ryan
Appointed: 28 March 2012
Bsc (Hons), MEng. Sci., MAICD

Alan Ryan - for websiteAllan Ryan is a leading researcher and consultant who provides expert advice to businesses to improve performance and be sustainable in today’s rapidly changing world. He is an Adjunct Professor at the UTS Business School, founder and Executive Director of Hargraves Institute and Director at Managed Innovation International. Before starting research at the Australian Graduate School of Management he spent 13 years in senior executive roles in a leading not for profit organisation.

Vice-President: Mr Nigel Corne
Appointed: 26 October 2016

Nigel is an experienced and qualified Chairman and Director of listed public, unlisted public and private companies. Past roles include National Chair of the Australian Hotel Association (Accom), Vice President of AHA NSW, Director of Sydney Convention & Visitors Bureau and Managing Director of Tourism, Hotels and Leisure Limited. Nigel has extensive non-executive committee and management experience in the industries of tourism & hospitality, franchising and trade & investment, together with community service organisations and Not for Profits. Nigel is Vice-President of Arthritis & Osteoporosis NSW and Chair of the Governance and Strategy Committee.

Director: Ms Cosi Pupo
Appointed: 19 December 2007
Cert (Mgt), Dip (Counselling)

Cosi is a senior probate paralegal and former director of the Independent Living Centre. She is involved in the Tutor Patient Partner Program, and is also a member of the National Arthritis Consumer Reference Group (NACRG). Cosi applies her experience of living with chronic pain to assist others, especially working adults.

Director: Ms Lynn Garlick
Appointed: 26 October 2016
Bachelor of Social Work, Master of Arts (Journalism), completing a Doctorate of Creative Arts (Creative Writing)

Lynn is an experienced communication, engagement and consultation professional. She has a depth of expertise in the health, corporate communication and education industries and she has lectured at university in the fields of writing and social work. She is also an International Yoga Teachers Association (IYTA) qualified yoga teacher. Lynn is committed to improving other people’s lives through her role as a director.

Treasurer: Mr Murray Smith
Appointed: 26 October 2016

Murray is a non-executive company director and chartered accountant with specialist restructuring and insolvency skills. Murray was previously a partner at McGrath Nicol and KPMG, having spent over 30 years working with troubled and impaired businesses, and advising banks, corporations and Government. After retiring from professional practice in 2014, Murray commenced non-executive director roles with Slattery Auctions Australia and the Independent Liquor & Gaming Authority. Murray has both personal and family experience with osteoarthritis.

Company Secretary: Mr Andrew Mock
Appointed: 15 May 2015
Bachelor of Laws, Bachelor of Commerce, Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice

Andrew is an experienced corporate and commercial lawyer who provides commercial, governance and regulatory advice to clients ranging from start-ups and not-for-profit charities to large multinational organisations. Andrew is passionate about providing his professional skills and expertise to the Board and giving back to the community.